Little red aphid eaters!

One of my favorite spring rituals is releasing ladybugs into my garden. I love watching those little guys so much I will continue to buy them even if I don’t think I have an aphid issue! This year I have a somewhat mature but new to me artichoke plant that was in need of those tiny red and black beetles with the big appetites.
Somehow I think I picked the best container of ladybugs ever sold in a store! As soon as I brought them home and opened the carton that evening they were impressive. Sooooo many of them and pretty active. I had plenty for the big artichoke plant, the 2 little ones, some for the roses, the dwarf apple tree…never has one container stretched so far in my experience.
By the next morning I could see why. They were ‘active’ indeed, I bought a carton of breeders!
It’s been a week now and there are still quite a lot of them on that artichoke always at least 6 or 8 pairs at any given time still coupled up. It seems unlikely at this time that I will ever need to purchase them again, pretty sure I accidentally started my own ladybug ranch!
Here are a few pictures of my pretty gardeners helpers.
Rated PG. Hehehe
Happy Spring!!!

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

